skip main site navigation go to current site section navigation
Departments | Accounting
  • 2013 Beam Abroad Case Competition Winners

    2013 EY Beam Abroad Case Competition Winners

Department News - Accounting


Swimmers Nominated for Academic All-Big 12 Team

Congratulations to MPA 4th-year Charles Moore and 3rd-year Grant Rogers for their nominations to the 2014 Academic All-Big 12 Conference Team. This is the third time for Charles to receive this nomination and the second for Grant.

Texas landed a league-leading 14 student-athletes on the 2014 Academic All-Big 12 Conference Team, the league announced Tuesday. Texas placed 12 student-athletes on the first team and two on the second team. Nominated by each institution's director of student-athlete support services, the men's swimming and diving Academic All-Big 12 Team consists of 24 first-team members and seven second-team selections. First-team honorees have maintained a minimum 3.20 grade-point average, while second-team members have maintained a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.

For the eighth year in a row, U.S. News and World Report (USN) ranked the Texas Master in Professional Accounting (MPA) program the #1 graduate accounting program in the nation. This marks 22 years accounting has ranked in the top five of the USN's survey of best graduate schools.

Congratulations to our department and the MPA team for all their hard work to achieve this impressive run! 

"Inside the "Black Box" of Sell-Side Financial Analysts," by Michael Clement, Lawrence D. Brown, Andrew Call, and Nathan Sharp was selected as a finalist in the competition for the inaugural FARS Midyear Meeting Best Paper Award. Although another paper was selected as the winner, the selection committee, which includes Brian Bushee, Shuping Chen, Darren Roulstone, and Cathy Schrand, was impressed by the high quality of his paper and decided that the paper merited special recognition as a finalist in the competition.

 Congratulations Professor Clement on this prestigious honor! 

Laura Wang Accepts Faculty Offer

We are happy to announce that doctoral student Laura Wang accepted an offer to join the faculty at The University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign.

Christopher Yust Awarded 2014 Deloitte Foundation Doctoral Fellowship in Accounting

Accounting doctoral student, Christopher Yust was selected to receive the 2014 Deloitte Foundation Doctoral Fellowship in Accounting. Up to 10 students are chosen each year for the $25,000 award that is given to top accounting doctoral students planning to pursue academic careers upon graduation. The award is intended to help cover expenses during the final year of coursework and the subsequent year to complete their dissertation. Approximately 100 universities are invited to apply for the Fellowship, with the accounting faculty nominating the students.

"This is a well-deserved honor for Chris, who has truly distinguished himself by outstanding achievements in research and teaching,” said Associate Professor of Accounting Yong Yu, Christopher’s graduate advisor. “I am very proud of Chris and so happy to see his hard work, dedication and passion recognized through this award."

Christopher earned his Bachelor of Business Administration in Accounting and Master of Science in Finance from Texas A&M University. Prior to joining the program, he worked as a Senior Associate at PricewaterhouseCoopers in their Transaction Services group in New York City and as a Postgraduate Technical Assistant at the Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB). Christopher’s primary research interests are financial accounting and reporting issues by banks and other financial institutions.

Terri Holbrook Gifts Funds to Create the Terri L. Holbrook Scholarship in Accounting

Terri Holbrook has gifted funds to the Department of Accounting to provide multiple scholarships to students, based on financial need. Multiple awards of $5,000-$10,000 per student will be available for 4th and 5th years interested in pursuing careers in tax.

Terri consistently gives of her time, working with the Deloitte FanTAXtic Case Competition team each year. We cannot thank Prof. Holbrook enough for going above and beyond sharing her knowledge in the classroom.

Judson Caskey and Dain Donelson Promoted

We are proud to share the happy news that Judson Caskey and Dain Donelson have both been promoted to Associate Professors effective September 1, 2014.

Read their latest research publications here.