University of Texas at Austin

Center for Research in Electronic Commerce

McCombs School of Business McCombs School of Business

Center for Research in Electronic Commerce

The Center's vision is assuring that electronic commerce processes and applications achieve their efficient outcomes promised by the digital age. We implement that vision through interdisciplinary research focused on developing technologies and applications that increase business productivity, consumer satisfaction, market efficiency, society's welfare and the effectiveness of government policies.

The scope of the Center's research covers activities characterized by the use of enabling digital technologies in communications infrastructure, computers and other enabling technologies that lay the foundation of the market. This foundation allows innovative digital processes and products to enhance, and replace, physical processes and products. Government agencies and policies also play a critical role in determining this new market economy's outcome. The Center's major research areas cover issues ranging from market infrastructure to policies through the strength of its multidisciplinary body of researchers.

Mission Statement

Mission Statement

Since its establishment in 1988, the Center for Research in Electronic Commerce (CREC) has served as an incubator for breakthrough research blending business and computer science. Today it is recognized as the leading research institution in Information Systems research. Needless to say, dramatic technological change since the 1980’s is transforming the world of business by creating new challenges and opportunities. The research staff at CREC is uniquely equipped to address these issues on behalf of the business community.

Cybersecurity Project

Cybersecurity Project

The Cybersecurity Rating Project is building econometric models for economic incentives for organizations to improve their dealings with spam, phishing and botnets on their network. This work employs game theoretic models and other formal mathematical models, together with statistical analysis and extensive empirical analysis of the Internet primarily based on anti-spam/phishing organizations. One of the results of the project is a prototype reputation system for organizations and and for blocklists.

We've launched websites in Asia (Joint work with City University of Hong Kong) and in the United States, displaying rankings by number of spam messages and phishing websites of Autonomous Systems (groups of IP addresses) of medical and of all organizations in the United States and six countries (Hong Kong, Mainland China, Macau, Taiwan, Singapore, and Malaysia) in Asia. The websites encourages these organizations to improve their security, thereby prohibiting the unethical use of their servers to generate spam and to host phishing websites.

Top 5 organizations with most spam and phishing volume in Asian countries in September 2017 (Borda ranking based on CBL, PSBL, APWG, and OpenPhish)

1  China Internet Network Infomation Center, China
2  Alibaba Technology Co Ltd, China
 New World Telecommunications Ltd, Hong Kong
 Chunghwa Telecom Co Ltd, Taiwan
5  China Mobile Co Ltd, China


Our project is funded by a grant from the National Science Foundation, NSF Award #1718600, SaTC: Core: Small: Information Disclosure and Security Policy Design: A Large-Scale Randomization Experiment in Trans-Pacific Region.

Project Staff

  • Yun-Sik Choi
  • Mark Varga
  • Markus Iioven
  • Shu He
  • Gene Moo Lee 
  • Yuhui Zhuang
  • Alvin Leung

Acknowledgements and Disclaimer

National Science Foundation

This material is based upon work supported by the NSF under Grant No. 1718600 1228990, and 0831338.

Data Sources

We gratefully acknowledge custom data from CBL, PSBL, APWG, OpenPhish, and Team Cymru.

*Any opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed in this material are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation or any of the data sources listed above.




Affiliate Research Faculty

  • Sulin Ba
  • Andrew D. Bailey, Jr
  • Ram Chellappa
  • Ming Fan
  • Xianjun Geng
  • Alok Gupta
  • Clyde W. Holsapple
  • Zhangzi Lin
  • Manoj Parameswaran
  • Jan Stallaert
  • Han Zhang
  • Jianqing Chen
  • Mei Lin
  • Hong Xu
  • Lizhen Xu


  • Mark Varga
  • Markus Iioven




McCombs School of Business
University of Texas at Austin
CBA 6.426
2100 Speedway, Stop B6500
Austin, TX 78712


Dr. Andrew Whinston
Hugh Roy Cullen Centennial Chair in Business Administration
Follow us on Twitter @ABWhin