skip main site navigation go to current site section navigation
  • Accounting Times Logo

Faculty News

Brian Lendecky Received Outstanding Accounting Educator Award

Brian LendeckySenior Lecturer Brian Lendecky was named a 2014 recipient of the Texas Society of CPAs’ (TSCPA) outstand- ing Accounting Educator Award. The award is given to Texans who have demonstrated excellence in teaching and who have distinguished themselves through active service to the accounting profession.

Brian was recognized not only for his work to develop the award-winning service course, the Tax Practicum—Federal Taxation of Low-Income Filers, but also the time he’s given to students as a faculty advisor for the PriceWaterhouseCoopers xACT and xTAX case competitions and teaching classes for study abroad.

Professor Kachelmeier Recognized for Support of Disabled Students

Steven Kachelmeier was honored by the staff of Services for Students with Disabilities (SSD) after students nominated him for providing support and guidance to students with disabilities. Quick to offer his help to several SSD students, Professor Steven Kachelmeier was honored for positively impacting their semesters by helping them with accommodations and going above and beyond to ensure their rights were respected.Michael Granof

Michael Granof Reappointed to Second Term on FASAB

The Chairman of the Federal Accounting Standards Advisory Board (FASAB), Tom Allen, announced that Michael Granof and D. Scott Showalter have been reappointed to the Board. Michael’s second five-year term began on July 1, 2014 and will conclude on June 30, 2019.

John Robinson Selected President- elect of the American Taxation Association (ATA)

John Robinson, the C. Aubrey Smith Professor of Accounting, was announced as President-elect of the American Taxation Association (ATA), the esteemed and longstanding tax section of the AAA. He begins his term officially next August 2015 and will serve through 2015 – 2016, hosting the ATA mid-year meeting. John is a thought leader in tax education and respected throughout the accounting research community as a scholar and doctoral mentor. As President, John will enjoy even stronger relationships with key stakeholders, and lead the association to continued excellence in research and teaching.

Lillian Mills Awarded Ray M. Sommerfeld Outstanding Tax Educator Award

AAA also honored Lillian Mills, Accounting Department Chair and Wilton E. and Catherine A. Thomas Professor of Accounting, with the ray M. Sommerfeld outstanding Tax Educator Award. This award was given in recognition of her contributions to both research and education, specifically noting her lengthy list of publications, strong relationship with the IRS and other governmental groups, and her history of service to the academic community.