skip main site navigation go to current site section navigation
  • Accounting Times Logo

Announcing the Inaugural Terri Holbrook Scholars

Accounting lecturer Terri Holbrook, and her husband Ed, are providing funds for a new scholarship awarded to third, fourth, and fifth-year Master in Professional Accounting students.

 Terri Holbrook Inaugural Scholarship Winners

In its inaugural year, the Terri Holbrook Scholarship in Accounting has been awarded to 15 MPA students. Scholar- ship recipients will receive one check per semester. Each award ranges in size from $5,000 to $10,000. With the establishment of this scholarship, Holbrook says she hopes to alleviate the cost for MPA students attending McCombs.

“It touches my heart to learn of the huge student loans, sacrifices made by struggling families, and long hours worked at part-time jobs to make ends meet,” Holbrook says. “There are many students who fail to apply to the MPA program simply because they cannot afford the tuition. These students have touched my life, and my husband and I are grateful to contribute to their futures.”

Holbrook says while each recipient has a different financial background or family struggle, they are all united under one umbrella of academic excellence, integrity, work ethic, and life achievement.

“I know that each and every one of them will be successful professionals and will strive to make our world a better place,” Holbrook says.

apply, with a preference given to students pursuing the taxation track or who wish to pursue accounting careers. Eligibility was also determined by financial need and a minimum GPA of 3.0 in the MPA program. For undergraduate recipients of the scholarship, the award is renewable as long as the recipient reapplies and continues to satisfy the criteria.

The 2014-2015 Terri Holbrook scholars are:

Emily Backus, MPA ‘15 Paula Jane Chin, MPA ‘15 Travis H. Clayton, MPA ‘15
Emily L. Cunningham, MPA ‘15 Candice Lauren Dipaolo, MPA ‘15 Laura G. Elizondo, MPA ‘16
Selina Khwaja, MPA ‘17 Jee Hee Ko, MPA ‘17 Geun Lee, MPA ‘17
Kimberly Lin, MPA ‘16 Michelle Niakan, MPA ‘15 Jennifer Timmermann, MPA ‘17
Jenny Yen Tseng, MPA ‘16 Ashley B. Wallace, MPA ‘15 Jefferson Wang, MPA ‘16