skip main site navigation go to current site section navigation
Departments | Accounting
  • 2013 Beam Abroad Case Competition Winners

    2013 EY Beam Abroad Case Competition Winners

Department News - Accounting


Shannon Chen Awarded Fellowship

Ph.D. student Shannon Chen was recently selected to receive the Sasakawa Young Leaders Fellowship Fund (SYLFF) research award. This award is administered through the McCombs Center for International Business Education and Research (CIBER) and open to any doctoral student with current or planned research for 2015-2016 related to international business.

One of two fellowships granted for 2015-2016, Shannon received the award based upon her interest in international tax issues. More specifically, her research interests include examining questions related to corporate tax avoidance, income tax disclosures, and tax transparency. Shannon is planning to use the research award towards attending international conferences.

SYLFF is a fellowship program administered at 69 universities and consortia in 44 countries to support graduate students in the social sciences and humanities with the potential to become leaders of tomorrow, transcending geographical, political, cultural, ethnic or religious differences and proactively addressing both global challenges and issues in the local community. Since the launch of the program in 1987, more than 15,000 students have received a SYLFF fellowship.

FARS Midyear Meeting Best Paper Award

Michael Clement's paper, “Skin in the Game: The Inputs and Incentives that Shape Buy-Side Analysts’ Stock Recommendations” was selected as a finalist for the AAA Financial Accounting and Reporting Section Midyear Meeting Best Paper Award for 2015. The paper, co-written by Lawrence D. Brown (Temple), Andrew C. Call (ASU), and Nathan Y. Sharp (A&M), documents the findings from surveying 344 buy-side analysts from 181 investment firms and conducting 16 detailed follow-up interviews to gain insights into the inputs and incentives that shape buy-side research, including the inputs to their stock recommendations, the determinants of their compensation, the frequency and value of their communication with company management, their beliefs about financial reporting quality, and the role of sell-side analysts in buy-side research.

The paper will be recognized at the Section Luncheon during the AAA annual meeting this August.

4 Students Earn Prestigious Elijah Watt Sells Award

The University of Texas at Austin’s graduate accounting program consistently ranks #1 across the nation for its top notch faculty as well as the high quality accounting education it offers students. Once again the Texas MPA Program has topped the nation with four students, Taylor Atsalis (BBA ‘13, MPA ‘14), Scott Huff (BBA/MPA ‘14), Chongho Kim (MPA ‘14), and Michael Kovacich (MPA ‘13), earning the prestigious 2014 Elijah Watt Sells Award. The award is bestowed upon candidates who have obtained a cumulative average score above 95.50 across all four sections of the Uniform CPA Examination, passed all four sections of the Examination on their first attempt, and completed testing in 2014.

To put this in perspective, 91,384 individuals sat for the Examination in 2014 and only 60 candidates met the criteria to receive the award. This year, only three U.S. graduate programs had more than one Elijah Watt Sells winner and the Texas MPA program had as many winners as the other two combined.

All four award winners are now making their mark at their respective workplaces: Taylor is currently employed with EY in Houston, Scott works for Dell in Austin, Chongho is employed with PricewaterhouseCoopers in Boston, and Michael is employed with BDO in Houston.

Caskey, Clement and Donelson Receive Endowed Appointments

Congratulations to Judson Caskey, Michael Clement and Dain Donelson, who received the following endowed appointments effective September 1, 2015:

Welcome the New Department of Accounting Chair!

Robert Freeman, the Arthur Anderson & Co. Alumni Centennial Professor in Accounting, has been appointed as the Chair of the Accounting Department at The University of Texas at Austin’s McCombs School of Business.

MPA Student Sarah Jones Offered GASB Internship

Sarah Jones (BBA ’14, MPA ’15) has been offered a Postgraduate Technical Assistant (PTA) position with the Governmental Accounting Standards Board (GASB) starting in June 2015. This is one of the highest honors for new graduates as they get firsthand experience working with the government board.

Kristen Valentine Receives Deloitte Foundation's 2015 Doctoral Fellowship in Accounting

Doctoral candidate Kristen Valentine received the 2015 Deloitte Foundation's Doctoral Fellowship in Accounting award. The Deloitte Foundation awarded $25,000 grants to 10 top accounting PhD candidates through the Deloitte Foundation’s annual Doctoral Fellowship program. Given to students who plan to pursue academic careers upon graduation, the award will support the 2015 recipients’ final year of coursework and the subsequent year to complete their doctoral dissertation.

Each year, approximately 100 universities are invited to apply for the fellowship. Student applicants are nominated by the accounting faculty of their school. A selection committee composed of four eminent accounting educators chose this year’s recipients.

Congratulations Kristen!