Events | Texas Finance Festival

Texas Finance Festival

The 19th Annual Texas Finance Festival

April 20-22, 2017
Sponsored by the Department of Finance at The University of Texas at Austin and the Review of Financial Studies (RFS)

History of the Conference

The first meeting of the Texas Finance Festival (TFF) was in Kerrville, Texas, in 1999. The Kerrville Folk Music Festival is held annually in Kerrville, thus the name for our conference. Since then, the conference has been held in Austin, Horseshoe Bay, Marble Falls, and San Antonio.


Thursday, April 20th

7:00 pm
Reception and Dinner - Pecan Canopy

Friday, April 21st, Morning – Presentations will be in Lost Pines 5
Session Chair: Sheridan Titman

8:00 am - 8:50 am
Registration and Breakfast – Foyer outside Lost Pines 5

9:00 am - 9:50 am
“CEO Horizon, Optimal Duration and the Escalation of Short-Termism”
Authors: Ivan Marinovic (Duke University) and Felipe Varas (Duke University)
Discussant: Jaime Zender (University of Colorado)

10:00 am - 10:50 am
“The Value of Offshore Secrets – Evidence from the Panama Papers”
Authors: James O’Donovan (INSEAD), Hannes Wagner (Bocconi University), and Stefan Zeume (University of Michigan)
Alexander Dyck (University of Toronto)

11:00 am - 11:50 am
“Credit Allocation under Economic Stimulus: Evidence from China"
Authors: Will Cong (University of Chicago) and Jacopo Ponticelli (University of Chicago) 
Discussant: Hui Chen (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)

12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Lunch (Roberston-Leftwich Room) and Optional Outdoor Activities

Friday, April 21st, Afternoon - Presentations will be in Lost Pines 5
Session Chair: Laura Starks

2:30 pm - 3:20 pm
“Bank Branch Supply and the Unbanked Phenomenon”
AuthorsClaire Célérier (University of Toronto) and Adrien Matray (Princeton University)
Discussant: Elena Loutskina (University of Virginia)

3:30 pm - 4:20 pm
“Cancer Diagnoses and Household Debt Overhang”
Authors: Catherine Fedorenko (Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center), Arpit Gupta (New York University), Edward Morrison (Columbia Law School), and Scott Ramsey (Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center)
Discussant: Sumit Agarwal (Georgetown University)

4:30 pm - 5:20 pm
“The Housing Crisis and the Rise in Student Loans”
Authors: Gene Amromin (Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago), Janice Eberly (Northwestern University), and John Mondragon (Northwestern University)
Discussant: Amiyatosh Purnanandam (University of Michigan)

6:30 pm
Reception and Dinner  - Pecan Court

Saturday, April 22nd, Morning - Presentations will be in Lost Pines 5
Session Chair: Matt Spiegel

8:00 am - 8:50 am
Breakfast - Foyer outside Lost Pines 5

9:00 am - 9:50 am
“Dissecting Characteristics Nonparametrically”
Authors: Joachim Freyberger (University of Wisconsin), Andreas Neuhierl (University of Notre Dame), and Michael Weber (University of Chicago)
Discussant: Kent Daniel (Columbia University)

10:00 am - 10:50 am
“Return Predictability Revisited Using Weighted Least Squares”
Authors: Travis Johnson (University of Texas at Austin)
Discussant: Michael Johannes (Columbia University)

11:00 am - 11:50 am
“Long Run Growth of Financial Technology”
Authors:  Maryam Farboodi (Princeton University) and Laura Veldkamp (New York University)
Discussant: Simon Gervais (Duke University)

12:00 pm – 1:30 pm
Robertson-Leftwich Room


Registration for Presenters and Discussants

Registration for UT Faculty and UT PhD Students

Registration for All Other Attendees
For All Other Attendees - Please note that there is a $300 registration fee.  You will be redirected to a payment page upon completion of registration.


Room Block Available:

Hyatt Regency Lost Pines
575 Hyatt Lost Pines Road, Lost Pines, TX 78612
Phone: 512-308-1234

All conference activities will take place at the Hyatt Regency Lost Pines.  Please book your reservation here.  We have negotiated a special rate of $225 per night for king rooms and $245 per night for queen rooms (single-occupancy).  There is also a $15 per room, per night resort fee which covers most basic on-site amenities. The cut-off date for room reservations is Thursday, March 30th, 2017.  



Program Committee:
John Griffin (
Cesare Fracassi (

Organizing Committee:
Juana Hardwick (
Kyle Hernandez (

Editors Representing RFS:
Itay Goldstein (University of Pennsylvania)
Stijn Van Nieuwerburgh (New York University)

Selection Committee:
Kenneth Ahern (University of Southern California), Alex Butler (Rice University), David Chapman (University of Virginia), Joseph Engelberg (University of California-San Diego), Itay Goldstein (University of Pennsylvania), Umit Gurun (University of Texas at Dallas), Bing Han (University of Toronto), Burton Hollifield (Carnegie Mellon University), Shane Johnson (Texas A&M University), Christine Parlour (University of California-Berkeley), Amiyatosh Purnanandam (University of Michigan), Alessio Sarretto (University of Texas at Dallas), Matthew Spiegel (Yale University), Stijn Van Nieuwerburgh (New York University), Kumar Venkataraman (Southern Methodist University), James Weston (Rice University), Jaime Zender (University of Colorado-Boulder), Sheridan Titman (University of Texas at Austin), and most University of Texas finance faculty.

Page last updated: 1/20/2017