University of Texas at Austin
The UT Tower stands tall behind the Texas state flag.

Texas Finance Festival

McCombs School of Business McCombs School of Business

The 20th Annual Texas Finance Festival

The Conference That Gives a Real Texas Experience  |  Horsehoe Bay, Texas  |  April 19-21, 2018
Sponsored by the Department of Finance at The University of Texas at Austin and the Review of Financial Studies (RFS).

Call for Papers >

Call for Papers

The 20th Annual Texas Finance Festival (TFF) will be held on April 19-21, 2018 at the Horseshoe Bay Resort in Horseshoe Bay, TX. The conference is sponsored by the Department of Finance at the University of Texas at Austin and the Review of Financial Studies (RFS). You are invited to submit papers on any topic in financial economics for the 2017 TFF.

 To encourage submissions by more junior researchers, priority for presentation slots will be given to papers submitted by researchers who graduated in or after 2011. The deadline for submissions is January 18, 2018 at 2 pm CT. The program will be announced in late February. There is a $50 submission fee per paper. 

The TFF and the RFS announce a combined submission process. At your choice, your paper submitted to the TFF also will be considered for publication by the RFS free of charge. The rules for this dual submission process can be obtained at

  1. When submitting the paper, you must explicitly indicate you are interested in consideration by the RFS.
  2. At the discretion of the RFS, dual submissions will be sent out for a formal review by referees. Only a relatively small number of submissions will be sent for a formal review. The decision on which papers are sent for a formal review will be based on feedback by the program committee and the reading of the editor.
  3. Papers submitted for dual consideration must not be under review at another journal or the RFS, nor can they be considered for dual submission if previously rejected by the RFS.
  4. “Rejected” paper authors are permitted to submit a future version of their papers to the RFS without prejudice.
  5. While under consideration by the TFF and the RFS, a paper may not be submitted to another journal (or the RFS) until the author has been notified.
  6. We expect notifications on whether papers proceed in the RFS process to come out in late February.

Submit your paper here:


The schedule for the 20th Annual Texas Finance Festival will be published in March 2018.


Registration for the conference will open in early spring 2018.


Horseshoe Bay

The 2018 Texas Finance Festival will be held at the Horseshoe Bay Resort in Horseshoe Bay, Texas.  A booking link will be available in early spring 2018. 

Horseshoe Bay Resort
200 Hi Circle North
Horseshoe Bay, TX 78657


Program Committee:
John Griffin (
Cesare Fracassi (

Organizing Committee:
Juana Hardwick (
Kyle Hernandez (

Editors Representing RFS:
Itay Goldstein (University of Pennsylvania)
Stijn Van Nieuwerburgh (New York University)

Selection Committee:

Kenneth Ahern (University of Southern California), Audra Boone (Texas Christian University), Christa Bouwman (Texas A&M University), Alex Butler (Rice University), David Chapman (University of Virginia), Joseph Engelberg (University of California-San Diego), Itay Goldstein (University of Pennsylvania), Umit Gurun (University of Texas at Dallas), Bing Han (University of Toronto), Burton Hollifield (Carnegie Mellon University), Paul Irvine (Texas Christian University), Shane Johnson (Texas A&M University), Elena Loutskina (University of Virgina), Christine Parlour (University of California-Berkeley), Amiyatosh Purnanandam (University of Michigan), Alessio Sarretto (University of Texas at Dallas), Tao Shu (University of Georgia), Matthew Spiegel (Yale University), Stijn Van Nieuwerburgh (New York University), Kumar Venkataraman (Southern Methodist University), James Weston (Rice University), Jaime Zender (University of Colorado-Boulder), Harold Zhang (University of Texas at Dallas) and most University of Texas finance faculty

History and Programs

The first meeting of the Texas Finance Festival (TFF) was in Kerrville, Texas, in 1999. The Kerrville Folk Music Festival is held annually in Kerrville, thus the name for our conference. Since then, the conference has been held in Austin, Horseshoe Bay, Marble Falls, and San Antonio.

View Past Programs

2017 Program

“CEO Horizon, Optimal Duration and the Escalation of Short-Termism”
Authors: Felipe Varas (Duke University) and Ivan Marinovic (Duke University)
Discussant: Jaime Zender (University of Colorado)

“The Value of Offshore Secrets – Evidence from the Panama Papers”
Authors: James O’Donovan (INSEAD), Hanna Wagner (Bocconi University), and Stefan Zeume (University of Michigan)
Alexander Dyck (University of Toronto)

“Credit Allocation under Economic Stimulus: Evidence from China”
 Authors: Jacopo Ponticelli (University of Chicago) and Will Cong (University of Chicago)
 Discussant: Hui Chen (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)

"Bank Branch Supply and the Unbanked Phenomenon”
Authors: Adrien Matray (Princeton University) and Claire Célérier (University of Toronto)
Discussant: Elena Loutskina (University of Virginia)

“Cancer Diagnoses and Household Debt Overhang"
Authors: Catherine Fedorenko (Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center), Arpit Gupta (New York University), Edward Morrison (Columbia Law School), and Scott Ramsey (Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center)
Discussant: Sumit Agarwal (Georgetown University) 

“The Housing Crisis and the Rise in Student Loans”
Authors: John Mondragon (Northwestern University), Gene Amromin (Northwestern University), and Janice Eberly (Northwestern University)
Discussant: Amiyatosh Purnanandam (University of Michigan) 

 “Dissecting Characteristics Nonparametrically”
  Authors: Andreas Neuhierl (University of Notre Dame), Joachim Freyberger (University of Wisconsin), and
 Michael Weber (University of Chicago) 
 Discussant: Kent Daniel (Columbia University) 

 “Return Predictability Revisited Using Weighted Least Squares”
 Authors: Travis Johnson (University of Texas at Austin)  
Michael Johannes (Columbia University)

 “Long Run Growth of Financial Technology”

  Authors: Maryam Farboodi (Princeton University) and Laura Veldkamp (New York University)
  Discussant: Simon Gervais (Duke University)